
Minimum Wage Maximum Hours Minimum Wage Maximum Hours

Current $7.25 $7.25 

January 1, 2018 $10.10*** (STATE)

January 1, 2017 $9.25*** (STATE)

January 1, 2016 $8.50*** (STATE)

January 1, 2015 $7.75** (STATE)

July 24, 2009 $7.25 

July 24, 2008 $6.55 

July 24, 2007 $5.85 

January 1, 2007 $7.25* (STATE)

January 1, 2006 $6.75* (STATE)

January 1, 2003 $6.25* (STATE)

January 1, 2002 $5.75* (STATE)

September 1, 1997 $5.15 

October 1, 1996 $4.75 

January 1, 1993 $5.25* (STATE)

April 1, 1992 $4.75* (STATE)

April 1, 1991 $4.25 

April 1, 1990 $3.80 

January 1, 1988 $3.85* (STATE)

July 1, 1981 $3.35* (STATE)

January 1, 1981 $3.35 

July 1, 1980 $3.10* (STATE)

January 1, 1980 $3.10 

July 1, 1979 $2.90* (STATE)

January 1, 1979 $2.90 

July 1, 1978 $2.65* (STATE)

January 1, 1978 $2.65 

January 1, 1976 $2.30 

January 1, 1975 $2.40* (STATE)

January 1, 1975 $2.10 

July 1, 1974 $2.00* (STATE)

May 1, 1974 $2.00 

January 1, 1970 $1.60* (STATE)

July 1, 1969 $1.40 (STATE)

February 1, 1968 $1.60 

February 1, 1967 $1.40 

January 1, 1964 $1.25 (STATE)

September 3, 1963 $1.25 

July 1, 1962 $1.15 (STATE)

September 3, 1961 $1.15 

July 1, 1958 $1.00 (STATE) 40

July 1, 1957 $0.85 (N.I.)
1

July 1, 1957 $0.90 (OAHU) 44

March 1, 1956 $1.00 

July 1, 1955 $0.65 (N.I.)
1

July 1, 1955 $0.75 (OAHU)

July 1, 1953 $0.55 (N.I.)
1

July 1, 1953 $0.65 (OAHU)

January 25, 1950 $0.75 

July 1, 1945 $0.40 (STATE)

July 1, 1943 $0.25 (N.I.)
1

July 1, 1943 $0.30 (OAHU)

October 24, 1942 $0.30 40

April 1, 1942 $0.20(N.I.)
1

April 1, 1942 $0.25 (OAHU) 48

October 24, 1939 $0.30 

October 24, 1938 $0.25 44

1 N.I. = Neighbor Islands

MINIMUM WAGE (Hawaii and Federal)

Effective Date
Hawaii's Wage & Hour Law FLSA (Federal)

  * Tip credit of $0.25 per hour allowed under certain circumstances.

 ** Tip credit of $0.50 per hour allowed under certain circumstances.

*** Tip credit of $0.75 per hour allowed under certain circumstances.


