MINIMUM WAGE (Hawaii and Federal)

Effective Date

Hawaii's Wage & Hour Law

FLSA (Federal)

Minimum Wage | Maximum Hours

Minimum Wage | Maximum Hours

Current $7.25 $7.25
July 24, 2009 $7.25
July 24, 2008 $6.55
July 24, 2007 $5.85

January 1, 2007 |$7.25* (STATE)
January 1, 2006  |$6.75* (STATE)
January 1, 2003  |$6.25* (STATE)
January 1, 2002 $5.75* (STATE)

September 1, 1997 $5.15
October 1, 1996 $4.75
January 1, 1993  |$5.25* (STATE)

April 1, 1992 $4.75* (STATE)
April 1, 1991 $4.25
April 1, 1990 $3.80
January 1, 1988 [$3.85* (STATE)
July 1,1981 [$3.35* (STATE)
January 1, 1981 $3.35
July 1, 1980  [$3.10* (STATE)
January 1, 1980 $3.10
July 1, 1979  [$2.90* (STATE)
January 1, 1979 $2.90
July 1, 1978  [$2.65* (STATE)
January 1, 1978 $2.65
January 1, 1976 $2.30
January 1, 1975  |$2.40* (STATE)
January 1, 1975 $2.10
July 1, 1974 $2.00* (STATE)
May 1, 1974 $2.00
January 1, 1970  |$1.60* (STATE)
July 1,1969  [$1.40 (STATE)
February 1, 1968 $1.60
February 1, 1967 $1.40
January 1, 1964 |$1.25 (STATE)
September 3, 1963 $1.25
July 1, 1962  [$1.15 (STATE)
September 3, 1961 $1.15
July 1, 1958 $1.00 (STATE) 40
July 1, 1957  [$0.85 (N.I.)*!
July 1, 1957 $0.90 (OAHU) 44
March 1, 1956 $1.00
July 1, 1955  [$0.65 (N.1.)*
July 1, 1955  [$0.75 (OAHU)
July 1, 1953  [$0.55 (N.I.)*
July 1, 1953  [$0.65 (OAHU)
January 25, 1950 $0.75
July 1, 1945  [$0.40 (STATE)
July 1,1943  [$0.25 (N.I.)*
July 1, 1943  [$0.30 (OAHU)
October 24, 1942 $0.30 40
April 1, 1942  {$0.20(N.1.)*
April 1, 1942 [$0.25 (OAHU) 48
October 24, 1939 $0.30
October 24, 1938 $0.25 44

* Tip credit allowed under certain circumstances

L N.I. = Neighbor Islands




