OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH LAWS NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

You have the right to a safe and healthful workplace. The State of Hawaii has developed a federally approved Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) program and the State is solely responsible for enforcing its own occupational safety and health regulations, which are applicable to most employers in the State of Hawaii, except those hired for domestic service in or about a private home, maritime or shipbuilding employees, employees covered by a federal agency, and employees working on military installations.

You have the right to notify your employer or the Hawaii Occupational Safety and Health Division (HIOSH) about workplace hazards. HIOSH will keep your name and identity confidential.

You have the right to request a HIOSH inspection if you believe that there are unsafe and/or unhealthful conditions at your workplace. You or your representative may participate in the inspection.

You have the right to see HIOSH citations issued to your employer. Your employer must post the citations at or near the place of the alleged violation. Your employer must correct workplace hazards by the date indicated on the citation and must certify that these hazards have been reduced or eliminated.

You have the right to copies of your medical records or records of your exposure to toxic and harmful substances or conditions.

You have the right to file a safety and health complaint. Your employer may not discriminate against you for making a complaint or for exercising your rights under the law, some of which are detailed above. You can file a discrimination complaint with HIOSH within 60 days of the discriminatory act.

Violations of the HIOSH Law may result in penalties of up to \$77,000 per item. Serious violations carry a mandatory penalty of up to \$7,700; willful or repeated violations up to \$77,000; and failure to correct a violation within the prescribed time can result in assessed penalties of up to \$7,700 per day.

Hawaii Occupational Safety & Health Division:

 Oahu:
 586-9100

 Hawaii:
 974-4000, ext. 6-9100

 Maui:
 984-2400, ext. 6-9100

 Kauai:
 274-3141, ext. 6-9100

 Molokai/Lanai:
 1-800-468-4644, ext. 6-9100

This notice provides general background information on Hawaii Occupational Safety and Health laws and is not intended to serve as a substitute for legal counsel. For specific legal advice on individual situations, please consult an attorney.

Dwight Takamine, Director Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

*You may satisfy Hawaii Labor Laws' posting requirements by posting our official labor law poster. For more information: http://labor.hawaii.gov/labor-law-poster/