
This presentation is to familiarize contractors, subcontractors, laborers and 
mechanics and state and county contracting agencies as well as other interested 
parties about the requirements of construction in Hawaii funded by the American 
Reinvestment and Recovery Act.

This presentation summarizes the main issues as understood by the Department of 
Labor and Industrial Relations and is a general interpretation of the Chapter 104, 
Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS).  Specific instances may have facts and 
circumstances not considered in this overview.

This presentation reviews coverage under Chapter 104, HRS, differences between 
Davis Bacon and Chapter 104, explains classification of laborers and mechanics, 
examines the prevailing wage, calculating overtime and how to account for fringe p g g g g
benefits along with new reporting requirements.  Finally, the State penalties for 
failure to comply with the law are provided, along with contact information if further 
questions arise.
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There are two laws that govern prevailing wages in construction of public works .To 
determine which one applies you must know  how the  ARRA funds were 
committed.

If a contractor receives ARRA funds directly from a federal agency, like the 
Department of Energy, then the Davis Bacon Act will apply and the contractor will be 
reporting to a contracting agency in  the  federal government.

When a contractor receives ARRA funds via a State , City or County agency,  then 
the prevailing wage law that applies is Chapter 104, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  An 
example of this the Weatherization Assistance Program, where contracts are 
awarded via the Office of Community Services at the Dept. of Labor and Industrial 
Relations.  Recipients of these funds for example Honolulu Community Action p p y
Program must impose the same requirements on the contractors and subcontracors 
who proceed on the contracts.  The responsibility to pay laborers and mechanics 
the prevailing wage and file certified payrolls follows the chain down to the actual 
work performed by laborers and mechanics on the project.

To note:  ARRA Service contracts are required to follow the McNamara-O’Hara q
Service Contract Act, which requires prevailing  wages in services  for contracts 
$2,500 and higher and overtime for contracts above $100,000  but this presentation 
focuses on construction contracts.
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While Chapter 104, HRS was modeled after the Davis Bacon Act, there are some 
major differences that everyone who is involved in state or county construction work 
should understand.
Some of the major differences between the Hawaii prevailing wage law and the 
federal prevailing wage law, the Davis Bacon and Related Acts are listed here.

Note that the rule for overtime is unique for Chapter 104 work It does not follow theNote that the rule for overtime is unique for Chapter 104 work.  It does not follow the 
general rule for the State of Hawaii under the Wage and Hour Law (Chapter 387, 
HRS).  Overtime is due after 8 hours of Chapter 104 work, or any work on a 
Saturday, Sunday or State Holiday.  

Example: If you plan your workers for a 40 hour,  5-day, 8-hour –a-day work 
week that goes from Monday to Saturday, you have scheduled 8 hours of 
overtime, because of the work on Saturday.y

Another dramatic difference from the federal Davis Bacon Act is that the prevailing 
wages are issued twice a year in February and September.  The wage rate 
schedule that is applicable during the time you bid a job, may not be the applicable 
wage rate schedule when you are doing the work.  You are obligated to pay the 
wages of the current wage rate schedule during the time the work is being g g g g
performed.  Note that where the DLIR is aware of planned rate increases the rates 
have been provided.
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This notice is H104-1.  It is available on the  DLIR website under the Wage 
Standards Division publications  ( http://hawaii.gov/labor/wsd/pdf/forms/eH104-
1_poster_rev4-09.pdf )and must be posted in a conspicuous place on the jobsite.  A 
full wage rate schedule must be attached, and must be updated each Feb. and 
Sept. when the wage rate schedule changes.  The link to the wage rate schedule 
appears on the notice to workers.

This notice contains the major issues in Chapter 104.  Note that #4 requires that 
you pay all laborers and mechanics on weekly basis in contrast to the general rule 
for Hawaii which requires payment only semi-monthly, basis on Chapter 388, HRS.

Additionally, if your employees are not governed by a collective bargaining 
agreement, each employee must receive a complete copy of the current wage rate g p y p py g
schedule.

This notice must have the name and phone number of the project manager or 
contracting agency that can be contacted in case of a problem or discrepancy.  

Fi ll Th t t b f th DLIR h i l d li t d F l f tFinally, The contact numbers for the DLIR on each island are listed.   Feel free to 
call and ask a question, we are always available for compliance assistance.
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Chapter 104 applies to all state and county construction contracts in excess of 
$2,000. Do not be fooled by an agreement that is described as a purchase order or 
voucher, this type of agreement is included.  If it is construction  for the state or 
county and it is more than $2,000, it is likely an included project.  Questions should 
be directed to the DLIR, Wage Standards Division.  
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All laborers and mechanics at the construction site must be included on the certified 
payroll form.  Note that this includes “owner-operators” if they are doing the work of  
a Laborer or Mechanic.

If you set up a location  for the storage of supplies for  a particular  public works job 
or to assemble material for a particular public works job and after the job is over this 
location will not remain, the location would be considered a dedicated site and all  
construction activity carried on there would be included work, required to be 
reported on a certified payroll.
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This is an important flow chart in determining whether a project is covered under 
Chapter 104, HRS.

Note the paragraph in the first rectangle on the right side, where perceived service 
or supply contracts may be included as a construction contract.

Is the labor or mechanic activity and integral part , or in conjunction with a 
construction contract or project?construction contract or  project?

Often, the answer to this question is “yes” and brings the “service” or “supply” 
contract back  to an included actiivity.

This analysis is the process that the DLIR will use to determine if a project, contract, 
or activity, should be included under Chapter 104, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

A full size version of the chart can be found on-line  in “Commonly Asked Questions 
about  Chapter 104” http://hawaii.gov/labor/wsd/wsd/pdf/forms/eH104_2.pdf at page 
2.
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Sample included activities are listed here.  There are memos detailing survey work 
and signal man work on the DLIR website as indicated.
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When submitting Certified Payrolls all laborers and mechanics must be classified by 
a selection from the Wage Rate Schedule.

The examples above are the correct way to list the classifications.  In the case of 
the Carpenter  the designation of (foreman) is included.  If the foreman actually 
participated in the work it is important to include the individual on the certified 
payroll.  It is likely a foreman will get a higher rate than the standard journey worker.  
It is always acceptable to pay more than the prevailing wage rate.

The classification of the laborer or mechanic must reflect the work done.  It has no 
relation to their title, it is about the work done.  So if an owner participates in the 
work done at the site, the owner must be listed under the classification of work 
performed and that payment at the correct prevailing wage rate was paid.p p y p g g p
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Truck drivers present a common violation when they are improperly excluded from 
the certified payroll When a Laborer or Mechanic brings materials supplies orthe certified payroll.  When a Laborer or Mechanic brings materials, supplies or 
equipment to the site, the time spent loading that equipment into the truck and 
driving to the location is included time.

For example:  A painting company requires their employees to meet at the 
regular shop at 7:00 a.m.  Three employees load up the truck with materials 
and supplies and drive to the public works site, unload and begin painting by 
7:30 The half-hour from 7:00 to 7:30 a m is included time on the certified7:30.  The half hour from 7:00 to 7:30 a.m. is included time on the certified 
payroll and the three employees should receive prevailing wages. (Likewise if 
they are required to return to the shop at the end of the day)

Compare this to an employer who requires the employees to be at the public 
work site at 7:30 a.m. where the truck loaded with supplies, materials and 
equipment meets them If the driver of the truck came from the regularequipment meets them.  If the driver of the truck, came from the regular 
business location only the driver of the truck would be included for the drive 
time.  If the truck  is used in the commute to work from the home to the work 
site the driver is not included on the certified payroll.  Any commuting rides 
must be at the convenience of the employee and not required by the 
employer to exclude “drive time”.
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If equipment or supplies is just dropped off and left for laborers and 
mechanics to handle at the site, the driver is not required to be listed on the 
certified payroll.



The  incorrect use of apprentices or trainees is also a common problem seen on the  
submission of certified payrolls.  There are no “trainees” allowed on public works 
projects, only registered apprentices in  a recognized program.

All registered apprentices must be listed on the certified payroll as indicated 
previously with the indenture date and step  or level.  In addition, apprentices must 
not work alone.  There must always be the correct ratio of journeyworker  to 
apprentice on the job. The ratio  will be determined by the organization that  
administers the recognized program, often a trade union, although merit-based 
organizations and individual companies have recognized apprentice programs.

Any company can apply to  set up a registered program by calling the Workforce 
Development Division 586-8877.  A template is available to assist  in this area.p p

If an apprentice works without the correct number of journeyworkers on the project, 
or an individual  is listed as an apprentice who is not registered in a recognized 
program, back wages to the full journeyworker level will be assessed and must be 
paid to the worker in addition a penalty  paid to the general fund.
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Wage Rate Schedules (WRS) are updated twice a year and  contractors and 
subcontractors are required to pay the rates on the current wage rate schedule.  
There is no requirement for contracting agencies to  pay  any increases on the bid 
amount due to increases in the Wage Rate Schedule.  Where there are known  
future increases they are included whenever possible.

You can get on a WRS notification list and receive an e-mail that a new scheduleYou can get on a  WRS notification list and receive an e mail that  a new schedule 
has been issued by calling 808-586-9019.
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The prevailing wage is made of two parts, the basic hourly rate and fringe benefits.  
The only reason it is broken up is to compute overtime.  The total amount  required 
to be paid to laborers and mechanics on public works is the prevailing wage.  The 
breakdown on how that is achieved is up to contractors or subcontractors.  Paying 
most in fringe benefits and a little in basic hourly rate is the same as paying the  
entire amount in basic hourly rate.  It does not affect overtime rates, it may only 
effect other issues outside the jurisdiction of DLIR, for example  payroll taxes.
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Here is an example  from Wage Rate Schedule 469 which was valid from 9/21/09 to 
2/22/10 until Wage Rate Schedule 470 was issued.
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Using allowable fringe benefits in the prevailing wage is often a problem.  
An allowable fringe benefit must be irrevocably made by a contractor, which means 
they can not take it back from the laborer or mechanic.

It must be made to a trustee or a third person, which is usually a union or could be a 
trust account at a bank.

According to a fund plan or program, which means a set or rules exists  to let 
laborers or mechanics know how to retrieve the benefits.

A  specific example of a problematic fringe benefit is a vacation program that 
provides two weeks after one  year of work.  If a laborer  works on a project 
in January but then leaves the company in June, no vacation was taken  and 
no allowable fringe benefit was provided because it was not irrevocable.

Instead if the  contractor provided .83 days of vacation a month, and put the  
funds monthly in a trust account set up for vacation and the employee left in 
June, they would be eligible for the vacation earned between Jan and June 
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In addition to being irrevocable, the three things an allowable fringe benefit must 
have are listed here.  

As seen in the previous example, allowable vacation pay fringe benefits often have 
to be specifically set up if outside of a collective bargaining agreement arena.

Health Insurance is a good example of an allowable fringe benefit becauseHealth Insurance is a good example of an allowable fringe benefit because 
payments are made monthly to the plan by the contractor or subcontractor and are 
irrevocable.

Pension plans are also a good example of an allowable fringe benefit,  except that 
some pension plans are paid only quarterly and  if so, payments would have to be 
modified to pa monthlmodified to pay monthly.

Finally, the fringe benefit must be paid for all hours worked, including overtime.  This 
is explained in more detail in the next two slides showing how to take credit for 
paying allowable fringe benefits on the certified payroll.
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In determining the correct hourly amount for a fringe benefit credit in the prevailing 
wage, the magic number is 173.  

This is different then  how the federal Davis Bacon computes the allowable 
amounts.

In Hawaii Chapter 104 requires you to take the monthly amount paid for a fringeIn Hawaii, Chapter 104 requires you to take the monthly amount paid for a fringe 
benefit and divide by 173 to determine the hourly fringe benefit credit.  It does not 
matter if a laborer or mechanic only worked 40 hours that month, the number to use 
to divide the amount of monthly payment  for an allowable fringe benefit remains 
173.
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This chart shows three things.
A. How to calculate overtime rates

Recall that the only reason the prevailing wage is split is to figure overtime. 
Here we see the basically hourly rate  multiplied by 1 and one-half to 
determine the basic hourly overtime rate of $54.30.  Adding the fringe 
benefit  rate of $19.02 as required to be paid on all hours worked a total 
overtime rate is $73,32

B. How to take credit for a fringe benefit  on straight time when  fringe benefits are 
not paid by the hour.

If fringe benefits are paid on a monthly basis as opposed to an hourly 
basis you take the monthly amount and divide by 173.  Using the  
previous example where it was determined $1 for Health Insurance the  
hourly rate reported on the certified payroll would be $54.22 with $1/hr y p p y
fringe benefit credit for straight time and $73.32 with fringe benefit credit 
exhausted for overtime.

C. How fringe benefits are paid for all hours worked including overtime.
What we would see in a union environment is a carpenter being paid $36. 
20 straight time and $54.30 overtime with payments of $19.02  to the 
union trust accounts for all hours worked.
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Typically, where fringe benefits are not paid on an hourly basis, we would 
see $54.22 for straight time and $73,32 for overtime with $1 credit for  
straight time only.



While no standard from is required DLIR and Department of Acouunting and 
General Services have collaborated to provide an Excel sheet  certified payroll form 
that contains all the  necessary information required.  This form is available on the 
DAGS public works website as well as the DLIR
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This is a snap shot of the recommended certification form with highlights where the 
new requirement s to itemize fringe benefits are required.  A signature on this page 
was cut off and is required by law to certify the payroll information

Fringe benefits paid must be itemized on the  certified payroll, as of Oct. 1, 2009.
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This is the sample certified payroll from the  recommended form used by DAGS and 
DLIR.

The Certified Payroll is a public document under Chapter 92F, Hawaii Revised 
Statutes.  Only personal home addresses and social security numbers are 
protected.  We recommend putting this on a separate work sheet.
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This is the third worksheet in the recommended Excel form developed by DAGS 
and DLIR.  Keeping this information separate from the public document parts will 
protect your employees.  This form can be filled out once and submitted with the 1st

Certified Payroll.  Re-submission is required only when something changes.
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If Contractors and Subcontractors do not comply there are penalties.

The most severe  penalty is suspension.   The Director can suspend contractors or 
subcontractors for failure to cooperate with our investigation causing delay or for 
falsification of a certified payroll.  In addition to suspension from eligibility to get 
state or county construction work for 3 years, a $1000 penalty to the State general 
fund will be imposed.

Suspension will also result if a contractor or subcontractor fails to pay any back 
wages found due or if they receive a 3rd Notice of Violation (NOV) according to the 
penalty structure  in Section 104-34, HRS.

The penalt str ct re is mandator and there is no discretion on the part of theThe penalty structure is mandatory and there is no discretion  on the part of the 
Director.  We impose NOVs based on an investigation.  If we have a complaint that 
causes an investigator to examine three or four different projects and we find errors 
in all projects, we will issue one NOV per project.    
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This is a summary of how to review Certified Payrolls.  
1. Do the classifications listed reflect the type of work completed that week?

For example, If it is paining a classroom, are there painters?  If there is 
installation of solar water heaters, are there plumbers?

2. Are all apprentices registered and recorded appropriately.  Were there enough 
journeyworkers on the job each day apprentices were on sitejourneyworkers on the job each day apprentices were on site.

3. Is there overtime paid on Saturday, Sunday or a State Holiday, or more than 8 
hours a day?

4. Were laborers and mechanics paid weekly? Is the submission done a week4. Were laborers and mechanics paid weekly? Is the submission done  a week 
after work was completed?

5. Did an officer of the company sign the certification and were fringe benefits 
itemized?
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