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Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
Wage Standards Division

June 24, 2013

Notice of Amendment to Wage and Hour Law
Act 70

Effective January 1, 2014, Chapter 387, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS),

has been revised as follows:

Requires employers to keep accurate records of employees' rates of pay

and provide employees with specific wage information on pay

statements as defined in Sections 387-6, HRS as follows:

Section 387-6(a), HRS, is amended to require that the

employer must keep a "contemporaneous, true, and accurate"

payroll records. Additionally, the payroll record must contain

the "rate or rates of pay of each employee and basis thereof,

whether paid by the hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece,

commission, or other basis; gross wages; deductions;

allowances, if any, claimed as part of the minimum wage; and

net wages.

Section 387-6(c), HRS, amends the pay statement required to

be issued to each employee, with specific information. See

attached pay statement sample for the required specific

information.

For more information on Hawaii's wage laws, return to the Department of Labor and

Industrial Relations, Wage Standards Division web page at

, or you may call the division at (808) 586-8777http://www.labor.hawaii.gov/wsd/



Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
Wage Standards Division

SAMPLE PAY STATEMENT
June 24, 2013
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[Company Name (2)] XYX Company, Inc. [Employee Name (1)] Jon Doe
[DBA (2)] Xcellent Maintenance [Employee ID Number] 000111
[Business Address (3)] 11 Business Street, #22 [Employee Address] 12 Aloha Street #3
[Business City/State/Zip (3)] Honolulu, HI 96801 [Employee City/State/Zip] Kailua, HI 96734
[Business phone no (3)] 808-777-8888

Pay Date (12): June 7, 2013

Note: The items with (#) in red, are required to be on pay statements (stubs), under Act 70, 2013 Legislative Session.

1
For multiple rates, overtime (OT) may be based on weighted average (WA): (xx hrs x $Regular Rate(RR)) + (xx hrs x $RR)= $xx.xx ÷
total hrs worked = $xx.xx WA rate x .5= $x.xx the OT rate.

2
The total straight time earnings for multiple rates is not required to be shown, but may be added for convenience.

Description
Rate (14)
(per hour)

Hours Earnings
Year to

Date
Deductions Amounts

Year to
Date

Regular Earnings 10.00 42.00 (5) 420.00 (6) 0.00 Federal Tax (10) 78.25 0.00

Regular Earnings 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 State Tax (10) 37.35 0.00

Overtime Earnings 1 5.00 2.00 (5) 10.00 (7) 0.00 SS Tax (10) 3.00 0.00

Total 42.00 (4) 430.00 Medicare Tax (10) 2.00 0.00

Medical Insurance (10) 5.00 0.00

Holiday Earning (8) 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 401(K) (10) 0.00 0.00

Vacation Earnings (8) 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 Uniforms (10) 0.00 0.00

Bonus (8) 10.00 0.00 10.00 0.00 Union Dues (10) 0.00 0.00

Total Earnings
Less

Taxes
Less Other
Deductions

Net Pay Check Amount Deposit/Check No.

Pay Period (13)
5/25/13 - 5/31/13

$440.00 (9) $120.60 $5.00 $314.40 (11) $314.40 (11)

Year to Date

Act 70, passed in the 2013 Legislature,
requires the following information be on
every pay statement:

(c) Every employer shall furnish each

employee at every pay period a legible

printed, typewritten, or handwritten record

showing the following:

(1) The name of the employee;

(2) The name of the employer;

(3) The address and telephone number of

the employer;

(4) The employee's total hours worked;

(5) The employee's regular and overtime

hours;

(6) The employee's straight-time

compensation;

(7) The employee's overtime

compensation;

(8) Any other compensation, including

allowances, if any, claimed as part of the

minimum wage;

(9) The employee's total gross

compensation;

(10) The amount and purpose of each

deduction;

(11) The employee's total net

compensation;

(12) The date of payment;

(13) The pay period covered; and

(14) The rate or rates of pay and basis

thereof, whether paid by the hour, shift, day,

week, salary, piece, commission, or other

basis, including overtime rate or rates of

pay. For employees paid a piece rate, the

record shall indicate the applicable piece rate

or rates of pay, and the number of pieces

completed at each piece rate;


