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FAMILY LEAVE COMPARISON CHART

PROVISION

CHAPTER 398, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES

FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993

Effective Dates

1/1/92 Chapter effective for public sector (L1991 Act 328)
7/1/94 Chapter effective for private sector (L1993 Act 157)

7/1/93 Director's rule making authority (L1993 Act 152)

7/1/95 Various amendments(*) (L1995 Act 154)

7/1/96 Appeal and hearings provisions (L1995 Act 154)

7/1/97 Reciprocal beneficiary qualifying reason for leave
(L1997 Act 383)

7/1/03 Sick leave definition, allow use of up to 10 days
(L2003 Act 44)

7/1/07 Only employee may elect to substitute accrued paid
leaves (L2007 Act 265)

5/6/09 Posting notice required (L2009 Act 48)

8/5/93 Public and private sectors

2/5/94 For employers under collective bargaining agreements

2008 H.R. 4986, eff. 1/16/09: the National Defense Authorization
Act; "spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin" to
take up to 26 workweeks of leave to care for a
"member of the Armed Forces, including a member of
the National Guard or Reserves

Covered Employer

Employs 100 or more employees within the state for each
working day during 20 or more calendar weeks in the current
or preceding calendar year

Employs 50 or more employees for each working day during
20 or more calendar workweeks in the current or preceding
calendar year

Eligible Employee

Employee must have at least six months of consecutive
employment

No restrictions based on number of hours worked

The Hawaii law does not cover federal employees

Employee must have worked at least 12 months (not necessarily
consecutive), and 1,250 hours in the preceding 12 months.

Must also be employed at a worksite by an employer with 50 or
more employees within 75 miles of that worksite.

Private, state, local, and certain federal government employees

Definition of Child

Biological, adopted, or foster son or daughter of an
employee; a stepchild; a legal ward of an employee

No limitation on age of child under the Hawaii law

Biological, adopted, foster, step son or daughter; legal ward; or
child of a person standing in loco parentis

Must be under 18 years of age, or an adult child incapable of
self-care due to mental or physical disability

Definition of Parent

Biological, foster, adoptive parent; a parent-in-law; a
stepparent; a legal guardian; a grandparent; or a
grandparent-in-law

Biological parent or an individual who stood in loco parentis to
an employee when the employee was a son or daughter; but not
a parent-in-law

Rev.
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PROVISION

CHAPTER 398, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES

FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993

Health Care Provider

Person qualified by the director to render health care and

service, and with a license to practice medicine, dentistry,

chiropractic, osteopathy, naturopathy, optometry, podiatry,
and psychology

Doctor of medicine or osteopathy authorized to practice in the
State; podiatrists, dentists, clinical psychologists, optometrists,
chiropractors (for manual manipulation of spine to correct
subluxation demonstrated by X-ray); nurse-practitioners and
nurse-midwives if authorized to practice under State law; or
Christian Science practitioners listed with the First Church of
Christ, Scientist in Boston, Massachusetts

Serious Health Condition

A physical or mental condition that warrants the participation
of the employee to provide care during the period of
treatment or supervision by a health care provider, and:

1. Involves inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential
health care facility; or

2. Requires continuing treatment or continuing supervision
by a health care provider

lliness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition
involving incapacity or treatment connected with inpatient care in
a hospital, hospice, or residential medical-care facility; or,
continuing treatment by a health care provider involving (1)
incapacity or absence of more than 3 days from work, school, or
other activities; (2) chronic or long-term condition incurable or so
serious if not treated would result in incapacity of more than 3
days; or (3) prenatal care

Twelve-Month Period

The four-week entitlement is based on a calendar year
(88 398-3, HRS, & 12-27-1 & 6(d), HAR).

The limitation to the entitlement can be based on a twelve-
month period (8§ 398-3(d), HRS, & 12-27-6(c)), which might
not be measured as a calendar year. The employer cannot
change from one twelve-month method to another if the
transition results in the reduction or loss of any family leave
benefit, or is intended to avoid the requirements of the law.

Family leave entitlement and use for birth or adoption is based
on a twelve-month period, which may not necessarily be a
calendar year.

Unpaid or Paid Leave

Rev.10/13

The intent of the law is to entitle an eligible employee to four
weeks of job protected unpaid leave for qualifying reasons.

Effective July 1, 2003, an employee may elect to substitute
accrued sick leave for family leave purposes, provided that
an employee shall not use more than ten days per year for
this purpose, unless a collective bargaining agreement
provides for the use of more than ten days (8 398-4(c), HRS,
and 12-27-9, HAR).

Effective July 10, 2007, the employee chooses whether to
use vacation or sick leave for a paid family leave. The
"employer” was deleted from § 386-4(b), leaving only the
"employee" as having a choice.

Allows "eligible" employees of a covered employer to take up to
a total of 12 workweeks in any 12 months (see Sec. 825.200(b))
job-protected, unpaid leave for qualifying reasons.

Permits an eligible employee to choose to substitute accrued
paid leave for FMLA leave. An employee's ability to substitute
accrued paid leave is determined by the terms and conditions of
the employer's normal leave policy. When an employee
chooses, or an employer requires, substitution of accrued paid
leave, the employer must inform the employee that the
employee must satisfy any procedural requirements of the paid
leave policy only in connection with the receipt of such payment.
See Sec. 825.300(c).

Page 4 of 9




FAMILY LEAVE COMPARISON CHART

PROVISION

CHAPTER 398, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES

FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993

However, when an employer has a self insured TDI plan,
using the company's sick leave policy, an employee may not
use more than the statutorily required minimum that the
employer is required to reserve for each employee.

Unless the employer agrees, the shortest allowable
incremental period of accrued leave that may be substituted
for any part of the HFL is the shortest period of time that the
employer's payroll system uses to account for the use of
leave, provided that the shortest incremental period is one
hour or less (8 12-27-7(c), HAR). Therefore, the employer
can designate fifteen minutes, or thirty minutes depending on
the payroll system, but not one hour and a half, or half a day
as the shortest increment to take leave.

The employer must account for the leave using an increment no
greater than the shortest period of time that the employer uses
to account for use of other forms of leave provided that it is not
greater than one hour

Qualifying Reasons for
Leave

Birth of the employee's child, or the adoption of a child, or to
care for an employee's child, spouse or reciprocal
beneficiary, or parent with a serious health condition

Leave for the employee's own serious health condition is not
covered

Birth, placement of child for adoption or foster care, to provide
care for parent, child, or spouse with a serious health condition,
or for the employee's own serious health condition

Military family leave: spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of
kin permitted to take up to 26 workweeks of leave to care for a
member of the Armed Forces, including a member of the
National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical
treatment, recuperation, or therapy, is otherwise in outpatient
status, or is otherwise on the temporary disability retired list, for
a serious injury or illness (eff. 1/16/2009)

Amount of Leave
Entitlement

A total of four weeks during any calendar year

Employee is not entitled to more than four weeks of leave in
any twelve-month period

Leave is not cumulative from year to year

A total of 12 workweeks during any twelve-month period

For births or adoptions, the entitlement expires at the end of the
12-month period beginning on the birth or adoption date

Intermittent Leave

Allowable for all qualifying reasons

Need not be taken immediately upon births or adoptions, but
limited to four weeks within a twelve-month period

Intermittent or reduced leave schedule permitted for serious
health condition when medically necessary

Not permitted for birth or adoption unless employer agrees

Rev.
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PROVISION

CHAPTER 398, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES

FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993

Converting a "Week" to
Equivalent Hours

An employer is allowed to convert the four week entitlement
to an equivalent number of hours based on the current
regular work week of the employee.

As in the FMLA, if an employee's work schedule varies, the
average weekly hours worked during the four weeks prior to
the start of the HFL will be used to calculate the employee's
'normal’ work schedule for this purpose.

Employers must grant intermittent FMLA leave or leave on a
reduced schedule when

- the employee's own “serious health condition” renders him
unable to do his job;

- to employees who need to care for a spouse, son, daughter
or parent with a serious health condition;

- to employees, under the FMLA’s military leave provisions, for
qualifying exigencies and to care for a covered servicemember
with a serious illness or injury.

The care needed can encompass both physical and
psychological care and can even include driving the family
member to the doctor.

Relationship to Paid
Leave

Leave shall consist of unpaid or paid leave, or a combination
of paid and unpaid leave

Leave in addition to employer-paid family leave which is
needed to attain the four weeks may be unpaid

An employee may elect to substitute any accrued paid
vacation, personal, or family leave for any part of the four-
week period

An employee shall be permitted to use up to 10 days of
accrued and available sick leave, unless an express provision
of a valid collective bargaining agreement authorizes the use
of more than 10 days. Employer is not required to diminish
an employee’s accrued and available sick leave below the
amount required by Section 392-41 (TDI law)

Unpaid leave for the 12 weeks

Leave in addition to employer-paid family and medical leave to
attain the 12 weeks may be unpaid

No limits on substituting paid vacation or personal leave.
Employee may not substitute paid sick, medical, or family leave
for any situation not covered by employer's leave plan

Rev.

Leave Sharing Required
for Spouses Employed
by the Same Employer

10/13

No limitation under the Hawaii law. Each spouse is entitled to
four weeks of family leave.

Number of leave workweeks for both may be limited to 12 weeks
within a twelve-month period for birth, adoption, foster care, or to
care for a parent with a serious health condition
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PROVISION CHAPTER 398, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993
Employment and Except for workforce reduction situations, the employee must | Restoration
Benefits Protection be restored to the same or equivalent position held prior to
the leave, or restored to an equivalent position with Limited denial of restoration is allowed if employee is salaried
equivalent employment benefits, pay, and other terms and and in highest paid 10 per cent of employees within 75 miles of
conditions of employment facility where employed, and if such denial is necessary to

prevent "substantial and grievous economic injury" to operations
No loss of accrued employment benefits except paid leave
expended for the family leave

Unreduced An employer can deduct unpaid family leave time off within If an employee is otherwise exempt from minimum wage and
Compensation for FLSA | a work week without jeopardizing the employee's FLSA overtime requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)
Exempt Employees exempt status. Employers are cautioned, however, that the as a salaried executive, administrative, professional, or
exemption could be affected by the deduction of non-HFLL computer employee providing unpaid FMLA-qualifying leave to
leaves (i.e., leaves for non-family leave reasons) from a such an employee will not cause the employee to lose the FLSA
work week, depending on the circumstances. exemption. See 29 CFR 541.602(b)(7).
Maintenance of Health None under the Hawaii law Health insurance and benefits must be maintained under the
Benefits During Leave same conditions as prior to taking leave, subject to recapture of
costs for employee's failure to return to work without cause
Record keeping In accordance with 12-27-13, HAR, pertaining to investigation | In accordance with 11(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act and
of employer records. related regulations
Notice of Foreseeable Notice in @ manner that is reasonable and practicable Not less than 30 days notice, or if less than 30 days is available,
Leave such notice as is practicable
Notification to Written notice setting forth employees’ rights and Notices setting forth pertinent provisions of the Act and
Employees responsibilities under the statute is required at the time of hire | complaint filing must be posted conspicuously at the place of
(12-27-10, HAR) employment
Civil penalty for wilful violation of above: Up to $100 for each
separate offense
Certification of Serious An employer may require written certification by a health care | With limitations, employer may require up to three opinions and
Health Condition provider of the individual requiring care. Certification shall be | certifications for a serious health condition
considered sufficient if it provides information as required by
the director )
) B . o Separate forms for different reasons for leave
Optional form HFLL-1 Hawaii Family Leave Certification of
Serious Health Condition
Educational employee No restriction under the Hawaii law Limitations may apply to teachers and instructional employees of

local educational agencies
Rev.10/13 Page 7 of 9
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PROVISION

CHAPTER 398, HAWAII REVISED STATUTES

FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993

Key Employee
Exemption

None under the Hawaii law

Exempts salaried employee if among the highest paid 10% and
restoration would lead to grievous economic harm to the
employer

Filing of Complaint

Must be filed within 90 days after the 1) date of the alleged
unlawful act; or 2) date of discovery by the employee of the
alleged unlawful act; however, in no event shall such a
complaint be filed after the expiration of 180 days of the
alleged unlawful act.

Should be filed within a reasonable time of when the employee
discovers that his or her FMLA rights have been violated. In no
event may a complaint be filed more than two years after the
action which is alleged to be a violation of FMLA occurred, or
three years in the case of a willful violation

Appeal and Hearing

Effective 7/1/96, provisions for:
(1) Employer appeal of orders issued; and
(2) Administrative hearings

None

Remedies and Penalties

Civil: Damages in the amount of wages, employment
benefits, or other compensation; equal amount as liquidated
damages; reasonable legal fees and costs

Criminal: Petty misdemeanor (fined not more than $1,000
and imprisoned not more than 30 days)

Damages in the amount of wages, employment benefits, or
other compensation; equal amount as liquidated damages;
reasonable legal fees and costs

REMINDERS:

e Theintent of the Hawaii Family Leave Law, as stated in Section 398-10, is to establish a minimum standard which is
not intended to replace family leave policies which provide equal or greater benefits than under the Hawaii Family

Leave Law.

¢ An employer cannot offset TDI (covering the employee's own disability) against an employee's Hawaii family leave
(covering only for the care of the employee's child, spouse, reciproca beneficiary, or parent).

Rev.10/13
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Together  ILakahi

This publication has been compiled solely for convenient reference purposes by the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (DLIR).

It is the policy of the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations that no person shall on the basis of sex, race, ancestry/national origin, religion,
color, disability, age, marital status, assignment of income for child support obligations, arrest & court record, National Guard participation, sexual
orientation, or breast feeding be subjected to discrimination from participation in, or denied benefits of the department's services, programs,
activities, or employment.

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to people with disabilities from DLIR's Enforcement Division, Intake and Certification

Branch, at (808) 586-8777 and (808) 586-8847 (T'TY).
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