
 HWHL-1a (Rev. 06/14) 

Situation:  Applicable minimum wage of $ 7.75 per hour 

 Employee receives more than $ 20 per month in tips, allowing tip credit to be used 

 Employee worked 30 hours per week and received $ 234.00 in tips for the week 

 Employer pays tipped employee $ 7.25 per hour ($ 7.75 minimum wage less $ 0.50 tip credit) 
 

The combined amount the employee receives from the employer and in tips must be at least $7.00 more than the 
applicable minimum wage.  Therefore, for an employer to take the maximum tip credit of 50 cents per hour, the employee 
must average at least $7.50 per hour in tips, calculated as follows: 

            

Applicable minimum wage  $ 7.75 per hour  Minimum wage + $7.00 $14.75 per hour 

Plus $7.00     7.00 per hour  Hourly wage using tip credit     7.25 per hour 

Total $14.75 per hour  Tips $  7.50 per hour 

 
Employee's tips for the week $ 234.00 
Divided by hours worked in the week      30.00   Hours 
Average tips per hour $     7.80 

 
Because the employee averages at least $7.50 per hour in tips and the combined amount of wages and tips is at least $14.75 per 
hour, the employer may take the maximum tip credit of 50 cents per hour and pay the tipped employee $7.25 per hour 
($7.75 - .50  = $7.25).  If the employee averages less than $7.50 per hour in tips, the employer may take a smaller amount in tip 
credit than the full 50 cents allowed. 
 
Effective January 1, 2015 the tip credit increases and the combined amount in wages and tips that an employee receives 

also increases.     See the accompanying exhibits 1 to 5 for easy calculation of the tip credits that can be used.   

 

 

STATE OF HAWAII 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 

WAGE STANDARDS DIVISION 

 

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES 
 

TIP CREDIT UNDER THE HAWAII WAGE AND HOUR LAW 

 
Under Section 387-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), Wage and Hour Law, and Chapter 12-20, Hawaii Administrative Rules, 
employers are required to pay employees not less than: 

 

 $7.25 per hour ending December 31, 2014;  $8.50 per hour beginning January 1, 2016;  
 $7.75 per hour beginning January 1, 2015;  $9.25 per hour beginning January 1, 2017; and 

$10.10 per hour beginning January 1, 2018 
 
Section 387-2, HRS, also provides that an employer may pay tipped employees less than the applicable minimum wage if the 
tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $20 a month in tips and the combined amount of wages and 
tips is more than the applicable minimum wage as shown in the table below. 
 

Combined Wage + Tips Must Equal at 
Least $ per Hour 

Maximum Allowed 
Tip Credit Towards 

Minimum Wage 

Adjusted 
Minimum Wage 
Less Tip Credit 

Effective 

$7.25 + $0.50 tips = $7.75 per hour 25 cents $7.00 Through December 31, 2014 

$7.75 + $7.00 tips = $14.75 per hour 50 cents $7.25 January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2015 

$8.50 + $7.00 tips = $15.50 per hour 75 cents $7.75 January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

$9.25 + $7.00 tips = $16.25 per hour 75 cents $8.50 January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 

$10.10 + $7.00 tips = $17.10 per hour 75 cents $9.35 January 1, 2018 

See illustration below on how tip credit is applied  

http://labor.hawaii.gov/wsd/find-a-law/


Guidelines: Tip Credit calculation at Minimum Wage $7.25 per hour June 2014 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 

WAGE STANDARDS DIVISION 

GUIDELINES 

 

Minimum Wage Calculation Table 

[When Using Tip Credit] 

 

Hawaii Minimum Wage: $7.25 per hour  Effective:  January 1, 2007 to December 31, 2014 

Tip Credit = $0.01 to maximum $0.25 

                                                      
1
 Section 387-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes 

The Allowable 

Tip Credit is: 

If The Employee 

Receives Tips Per 

Hour That Equals: 

Then The Employer 

May Pay an Adjusted 

Minimum Wage of: 

Total Wages and Tips Must Equal 

$7.75 or Higher 

($7.25 wage + $0.50 tips)  
1
 

$0.25 $0.75 $7.00 $7.75 

$0.24 $0.74 $7.01 $7.75 

$0.23 $0.73 $7.02 $7.75 

$0.22 $0.72 $7.03 $7.75 

$0.21 $0.71 $7.04 $7.75 

$0.20 $0.70 $7.05 $7.75 

$0.19 $0.69 $7.06 $7.75 

$0.18 $0.68 $7.07 $7.75 

$0.17 $0.67 $7.08 $7.75 

$0.16 $0.66 $7.09 $7.75 

$0.15 $0.65 $7.10 $7.75 

$0.14 $0.64 $7.11 $7.75 

$0.13 $0.63 $7.12 $7.75 

$0.12 $0.62 $7.13 $7.75 

$0.11 $0.61 $7.14 $7.75 

$0.10 $0.60 $7.15 $7.75 

$0.09 $0.59 $7.16 $7.75 

$0.08 $0.58 $7.17 $7.75 

$0.07 $0.57 $7.18 $7.75 

$0.06 $0.56 $7.19 $7.75 

$0.05 $0.55 $7.20 $7.75 

$0.04 $0.54 $7.21 $7.75 

$0.03 $0.53 $7.22 $7.75 

$0.02 $0.52 $7.23 $7.75 

$0.01 $0.51 $7.24 $7.75 

$0.00 $0.50 $7.25 $7.75 

Exhibit 1 



Guidelines: Tip Credit calculation at Minimum Wage $7.75 per hour June 2014 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 

WAGE STANDARDS DIVISION 

 

GUIDELINES 

Minimum Wage Calculation Table 

[When Using Tip Credit] 

 

Hawaii Minimum Wage: $7.75 per hour  Effective:  January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2015 

Tip Credit = $0.01 to maximum $0.50 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                      
1
 Section 387-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes 

The 

Allowable 

Tip Credit 

is: 

 

If The 

Employee 

Receives Tips 

Per Hour 

That Equals: 

Then The 

Employer May 

Pay an 

Adjusted 

Minimum 

Wage of: 

Total Wages 

and Tips Must 

Equal $14.75 

or Higher 

($7.75 wage + 

$7.00 tips) 
1
 

 

The 

Allowable 

Tip Credit 

is: 

If The 

Employee 

Receives Tips 

Per Hour 

That Equals: 

Then The 

Employer May 

Pay an 

Adjusted 

Minimum 

Wage of: 

Total Wages 

and Tips Must 

Equal $14.75 

or Higher 

($7.75 wage + 

$7.00 tips) 
1
 

$0.50 $7.50 $7.25 $14.75  $0.24 $7.24 $7.51 $14.75 

$0.49 $7.49 $7.26 $14.75  $0.23 $7.23 $7.52 $14.75 

$0.48 $7.48 $7.27 $14.75  $0.22 $7.22 $7.53 $14.75 

$0.47 $7.47 $7.28 $14.75  $0.21 $7.21 $7.54 $14.75 

$0.46 $7.46 $7.29 $14.75  $0.20 $7.20 $7.55 $14.75 

$0.45 $7.45 $7.30 $14.75  $0.19 $7.19 $7.56 $14.75 

$0.44 $7.44 $7.31 $14.75  $0.18 $7.18 $7.57 $14.75 

$0.43 $7.43 $7.32 $14.75  $0.17 $7.17 $7.58 $14.75 

$0.42 $7.42 $7.33 $14.75  $0.16 $7.16 $7.59 $14.75 

$0.41 $7.41 $7.34 $14.75  $0.15 $7.15 $7.60 $14.75 

$0.40 $7.40 $7.35 $14.75  $0.14 $7.14 $7.61 $14.75 

$0.39 $7.39 $7.36 $14.75  $0.13 $7.13 $7.62 $14.75 

$0.38 $7.38 $7.37 $14.75  $0.12 $7.12 $7.63 $14.75 

$0.37 $7.37 $7.38 $14.75  $0.11 $7.11 $7.64 $14.75 

$0.36 $7.36 $7.39 $14.75  $0.10 $7.10 $7.65 $14.75 

$0.35 $7.35 $7.40 $14.75  $0.09 $7.09 $7.66 $14.75 

$0.34 $7.34 $7.41 $14.75  $0.08 $7.08 $7.67 $14.75 

$0.33 $7.33 $7.42 $14.75  $0.07 $7.07 $7.68 $14.75 

$0.32 $7.32 $7.43 $14.75  $0.06 $7.06 $7.69 $14.75 

$0.31 $7.31 $7.44 $14.75  $0.05 $7.05 $7.70 $14.75 

$0.30 $7.30 $7.45 $14.75  $0.04 $7.04 $7.71 $14.75 

$0.29 $7.29 $7.46 $14.75  $0.03 $7.03 $7.72 $14.75 

$0.28 $7.28 $7.47 $14.75  $0.02 $7.02 $7.73 $14.75 

$0.27 $7.27 $7.48 $14.75  $0.01 $7.01 $7.74 $14.75 

$0.26 $7.26 $7.49 $14.75  $0.00 $7.00 $7.75 $14.75 

$0.25 $7.25 $7.50 $14.75      

Exhibit 2 



Guidelines: Tip Credit calculation at Minimum Wage $8.50 per hour June 2014 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 

WAGE STANDARDS DIVISION 

 

GUIDELINES 

Minimum Wage Calculation Table 

[When Using Tip Credit] 

 

 

Hawaii Minimum Wage: $8.50 per hour  Effective:  January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 

Tip Credit = $0.01 to maximum $0.75 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                      
1
 Section 387-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes 

The 

Allowable 

Tip Credit 

is: 

 

If The 

Employee 

Receives Tips 

Per Hour That 

Equals: 

Then The 

Employer May 

Pay an Adjusted 

Minimum Wage 

of: 

Total Wages 

and Tips Must 

Equal $15.50 

or Higher 

($8.50 wage + 

$7.00 tips) 1 

 

The 

Allowable 

Tip Credit 

is: 

If The 

Employee 

Receives Tips 

Per Hour That 

Equals: 

Then The 

Employer May 

Pay an Adjusted 

Minimum Wage 

of: 

Total Wages 

and Tips Must 

Equal $15.50 

or Higher 

($8.50 wage + 

$7.00 tips)  1 

$0.75  $7.75 $7.75  $15.50  $0.37  $7.37 $8.13  $15.50 

$0.74  $7.74 $7.76  $15.50  $0.36  $7.36 $8.14  $15.50 

$0.73  $7.73 $7.77  $15.50  $0.35  $7.35 $8.15  $15.50 

$0.72  $7.72 $7.78  $15.50  $0.34  $7.34 $8.16  $15.50 

$0.71  $7.71 $7.79  $15.50  $0.33  $7.33 $8.17  $15.50 

$0.70  $7.70 $7.80  $15.50  $0.32  $7.32 $8.18  $15.50 

$0.69  $7.69 $7.81  $15.50  $0.31  $7.31 $8.19  $15.50 

$0.68  $7.68 $7.82  $15.50  $0.30  $7.30 $8.20  $15.50 

$0.67  $7.67 $7.83  $15.50  $0.29  $7.29 $8.21  $15.50 

$0.66  $7.66 $7.84  $15.50  $0.28  $7.28 $8.22  $15.50 

$0.65  $7.65 $7.85  $15.50  $0.27  $7.27 $8.23  $15.50 

$0.64  $7.64 $7.86  $15.50  $0.26  $7.26 $8.24  $15.50 

$0.63  $7.63 $7.87  $15.50  $0.25  $7.25 $8.25  $15.50 

$0.62  $7.62 $7.88  $15.50  $0.24  $7.24 $8.26  $15.50 

$0.61  $7.61 $7.89  $15.50  $0.23  $7.23 $8.27  $15.50 

$0.60  $7.60 $7.90  $15.50  $0.22  $7.22 $8.28  $15.50 

$0.59  $7.59 $7.91  $15.50  $0.21  $7.21 $8.29  $15.50 

$0.58  $7.58 $7.92  $15.50  $0.20  $7.20 $8.30  $15.50 

$0.57  $7.57 $7.93  $15.50  $0.19  $7.19 $8.31  $15.50 

$0.56  $7.56 $7.94  $15.50  $0.18  $7.18 $8.32  $15.50 

$0.55  $7.55 $7.95  $15.50  $0.17  $7.17 $8.33  $15.50 

$0.54  $7.54 $7.96  $15.50  $0.16  $7.16 $8.34  $15.50 

$0.53  $7.53 $7.97  $15.50  $0.15  $7.15 $8.35  $15.50 

$0.52  $7.52 $7.98  $15.50  $0.14  $7.14 $8.36  $15.50 

$0.51  $7.51 $7.99  $15.50  $0.13  $7.13 $8.37  $15.50 

$0.50  $7.50 $8.00  $15.50  $0.12  $7.12 $8.38  $15.50 

$0.49  $7.49 $8.01  $15.50  $0.11  $7.11 $8.39  $15.50 

$0.48  $7.48 $8.02  $15.50  $0.10  $7.10 $8.40  $15.50 

$0.47  $7.47 $8.03  $15.50  $0.09  $7.09 $8.41  $15.50 

$0.46  $7.46 $8.04  $15.50  $0.08  $7.08 $8.42  $15.50 

$0.45  $7.45 $8.05  $15.50  $0.07  $7.07 $8.43  $15.50 

$0.44  $7.44 $8.06  $15.50  $0.06  $7.06 $8.44  $15.50 

$0.43  $7.43 $8.07  $15.50  $0.05  $7.05 $8.45  $15.50 

$0.42  $7.42 $8.08  $15.50  $0.04  $7.04 $8.46  $15.50 

$0.41  $7.41 $8.09  $15.50  $0.03  $7.03 $8.47  $15.50 

$0.40  $7.40 $8.10  $15.50  $0.02  $7.02 $8.48  $15.50 

$0.39  $7.39 $8.11  $15.50  $0.01  $7.01 $8.49  $15.50 

$0.38  $7.38 $8.12  $15.50  $0.00  $7.00 $8.50  $15.50 

Exhibit 3 



Guidelines: Tip Credit calculation at Minimum Wage $9.25 per hour June 2014 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 

WAGE STANDARDS DIVISION 

 

GUIDELINES 

Minimum Wage Calculation Table 

[When Using Tip Credit] 

 

 

Hawaii Minimum Wage: $9.25 per hour  Effective:  January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 

Tip Credit = $0.01 to maximum $0.75 

 

 

 

                                                      
1
 Section 387-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes 

The 

Allowable 

Tip Credit 

is: 

 

If The 

Employee 

Receives Tips 

Per Hour That 

Equals: 

Then The 

Employer May 

Pay an Adjusted 

Minimum Wage 

of: 

Total Wages 

and Tips Must 

Equal $16.25 

or Higher 

($9.25 wage + 

$7.00 tips) 1 

 

The 

Allowable 

Tip Credit 

is: 

If The 

Employee 

Receives Tips 

Per Hour That 

Equals: 

Then The 

Employer May 

Pay an Adjusted 

Minimum Wage 

of: 

Total Wages 

and Tips Must 

Equal $16.25 

or Higher 

($9.25 wage + 

$7.00 tips)   1 

$0.75 $7.75 $8.50  $16.25  $0.37 $7.37 $8.88  $16.25 

$0.74 $7.74 $8.51  $16.25  $0.36 $7.36 $8.89  $16.25 

$0.73 $7.73 $8.52  $16.25  $0.35 $7.35 $8.90  $16.25 

$0.72 $7.72 $8.53  $16.25  $0.34 $7.34 $8.91  $16.25 

$0.71 $7.71 $8.54  $16.25  $0.33 $7.33 $8.92  $16.25 

$0.70 $7.70 $8.55  $16.25  $0.32 $7.32 $8.93  $16.25 

$0.69 $7.69 $8.56  $16.25  $0.31 $7.31 $8.94  $16.25 

$0.68 $7.68 $8.57  $16.25  $0.30 $7.30 $8.95  $16.25 

$0.67 $7.67 $8.58  $16.25  $0.29 $7.29 $8.96  $16.25 

$0.66 $7.66 $8.59  $16.25  $0.28 $7.28 $8.97  $16.25 

$0.65 $7.65 $8.60  $16.25  $0.27 $7.27 $8.98  $16.25 

$0.64 $7.64 $8.61  $16.25  $0.26 $7.26 $8.99  $16.25 

$0.63 $7.63 $8.62  $16.25  $0.25 $7.25 $9.00  $16.25 

$0.62 $7.62 $8.63  $16.25  $0.24 $7.24 $9.01  $16.25 

$0.61 $7.61 $8.64  $16.25  $0.23 $7.23 $9.02  $16.25 

$0.60 $7.60 $8.65  $16.25  $0.22 $7.22 $9.03  $16.25 

$0.59 $7.59 $8.66  $16.25  $0.21 $7.21 $9.04  $16.25 

$0.58 $7.58 $8.67  $16.25  $0.20 $7.20 $9.05  $16.25 

$0.57 $7.57 $8.68  $16.25  $0.19 $7.19 $9.06  $16.25 

$0.56 $7.56 $8.69  $16.25  $0.18 $7.18 $9.07  $16.25 

$0.55 $7.55 $8.70  $16.25  $0.17 $7.17 $9.08  $16.25 

$0.54 $7.54 $8.71  $16.25  $0.16 $7.16 $9.09  $16.25 

$0.53 $7.53 $8.72  $16.25  $0.15 $7.15 $9.10  $16.25 

$0.52 $7.52 $8.73  $16.25  $0.14 $7.14 $9.11  $16.25 

$0.51 $7.51 $8.74  $16.25  $0.13 $7.13 $9.12  $16.25 

$0.50 $7.50 $8.75  $16.25  $0.12 $7.12 $9.13  $16.25 

$0.49 $7.49 $8.76  $16.25  $0.11 $7.11 $9.14  $16.25 

$0.48 $7.48 $8.77  $16.25  $0.10 $7.10 $9.15  $16.25 

$0.47 $7.47 $8.78  $16.25  $0.09 $7.09 $9.16  $16.25 

$0.46 $7.46 $8.79  $16.25  $0.08 $7.08 $9.17  $16.25 

$0.45 $7.45 $8.80  $16.25  $0.07 $7.07 $9.18  $16.25 

$0.44 $7.44 $8.81  $16.25  $0.06 $7.06 $9.19  $16.25 

$0.43 $7.43 $8.82  $16.25  $0.05 $7.05 $9.20  $16.25 

$0.42 $7.42 $8.83  $16.25  $0.04 $7.04 $9.21  $16.25 

$0.41 $7.41 $8.84  $16.25  $0.03 $7.03 $9.22  $16.25 

$0.40 $7.40 $8.85  $16.25  $0.02 $7.02 $9.23  $16.25 

$0.39 $7.39 $8.86  $16.25  $0.01 $7.01 $9.24  $16.25 

$0.38 $7.38 $8.87  $16.25  $0.00 $7.00 $9.25  $16.25 

Exhibit 4 



Guidelines: Tip Credit calculation at Minimum Wage $10.10 per hour June 2014 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 

WAGE STANDARDS DIVISION 

 

GUIDELINES 

Minimum Wage Calculation Table 

[When Using Tip Credit] 

 

 

Hawaii Minimum Wage: $10.10 per hour  Effective:  January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018 

Tip Credit = $0.01 to maximum $0.75 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                      
1
 Section 387-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes 

The 

Allowable 

Tip Credit 

is: 

 

If The 

Employee 

Receives Tips 

Per Hour That 

Equals: 

Then The 

Employer May 

Pay an Adjusted 

Minimum Wage 

of: 

Total Wages 

and Tips Must 

Equal $17.10 

or Higher 

($10.10 wage 

+ $7.00 tips) 1 

 

The 

Allowable 

Tip Credit 

is: 

If The 

Employee 

Receives Tips 

Per Hour That 

Equals: 

Then The 

Employer May 

Pay an Adjusted 

Minimum Wage 

of: 

Total Wages 

and Tips Must 

Equal $17.10 

or Higher 

($10.10 wage 

+ $7.00 tips) 1 

$0.75 $7.75 $9.35  $17.10  $0.37 $7.37 $9.73  $17.10 

$0.74 $7.74 $9.36  $17.10  $0.36 $7.36 $9.74  $17.10 

$0.73 $7.73 $9.37  $17.10  $0.35 $7.35 $9.75  $17.10 

$0.72 $7.72 $9.38  $17.10  $0.34 $7.34 $9.76  $17.10 

$0.71 $7.71 $9.39  $17.10  $0.33 $7.33 $9.77  $17.10 

$0.70 $7.70 $9.40  $17.10  $0.32 $7.32 $9.78  $17.10 

$0.69 $7.69 $9.41  $17.10  $0.31 $7.31 $9.79  $17.10 

$0.68 $7.68 $9.42  $17.10  $0.30 $7.30 $9.80  $17.10 

$0.67 $7.67 $9.43  $17.10  $0.29 $7.29 $9.81  $17.10 

$0.66 $7.66 $9.44  $17.10  $0.28 $7.28 $9.82  $17.10 

$0.65 $7.65 $9.45  $17.10  $0.27 $7.27 $9.83  $17.10 

$0.64 $7.64 $9.46  $17.10  $0.26 $7.26 $9.84  $17.10 

$0.63 $7.63 $9.47  $17.10  $0.25 $7.25 $9.85  $17.10 

$0.62 $7.62 $9.48  $17.10  $0.24 $7.24 $9.86  $17.10 

$0.61 $7.61 $9.49  $17.10  $0.23 $7.23 $9.87  $17.10 

$0.60 $7.60 $9.50  $17.10  $0.22 $7.22 $9.88  $17.10 

$0.59 $7.59 $9.51  $17.10  $0.21 $7.21 $9.89  $17.10 

$0.58 $7.58 $9.52  $17.10  $0.20 $7.20 $9.90  $17.10 

$0.57 $7.57 $9.53  $17.10  $0.19 $7.19 $9.91  $17.10 

$0.56 $7.56 $9.54  $17.10  $0.18 $7.18 $9.92  $17.10 

$0.55 $7.55 $9.55  $17.10  $0.17 $7.17 $9.93  $17.10 

$0.54 $7.54 $9.56  $17.10  $0.16 $7.16 $9.94  $17.10 

$0.53 $7.53 $9.57  $17.10  $0.15 $7.15 $9.95  $17.10 

$0.52 $7.52 $9.58  $17.10  $0.14 $7.14 $9.96  $17.10 

$0.51 $7.51 $9.59  $17.10  $0.13 $7.13 $9.97  $17.10 

$0.50 $7.50 $9.60  $17.10  $0.12 $7.12 $9.98  $17.10 

$0.49 $7.49 $9.61  $17.10  $0.11 $7.11 $9.99  $17.10 

$0.48 $7.48 $9.62  $17.10  $0.10 $7.10 $10.00  $17.10 

$0.47 $7.47 $9.63  $17.10  $0.09 $7.09 $10.01  $17.10 

$0.46 $7.46 $9.64  $17.10  $0.08 $7.08 $10.02  $17.10 

$0.45 $7.45 $9.65  $17.10  $0.07 $7.07 $10.03  $17.10 

$0.44 $7.44 $9.66  $17.10  $0.06 $7.06 $10.04  $17.10 

$0.43 $7.43 $9.67  $17.10  $0.05 $7.05 $10.05  $17.10 

$0.42 $7.42 $9.68  $17.10  $0.04 $7.04 $10.06  $17.10 

$0.41 $7.41 $9.69  $17.10  $0.03 $7.03 $10.07  $17.10 

$0.40 $7.40 $9.70  $17.10  $0.02 $7.02 $10.08  $17.10 

$0.39 $7.39 $9.71  $17.10  $0.01 $7.01 $10.09  $17.10 

$0.38 $7.38 $9.72  $17.10  $0.00 $7.00 $10.10  $17.10 

Exhibit 5 


