REQUIRED NOTICE TO DISLOCATED WORKERS/PLANT CLOSINGS NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

You have the right to be notified in writing at least 60 days in advance of possible layoffs or terminations due to certain business transactions taken by your employer. Your employer must also notify the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations in the same manner according to the Dislocated Workers Act (DWA). The DWA applies to businesses which have at least 50 persons employed in the state at any time during the 12 months preceding the event, and are a party to a sale, transfer, merger, business takeover, bankruptcy, or business transaction, which will result in the relocation outside the state or the shutting down of all or a portion of operations.

You have the right to payment of a dislocated worker allowance if you are laid off or terminated due to these transactions and are eligible for unemployment compensation benefits. These payments supplement unemployment benefits for a maximum 4 week period.

For general information about the Dislocated Workers Act or the Dislocated Workers Allowance, please call the Workforce Development Division at 586-8877. For information about assistance to employers and employees facing a business closure, please contact the following Workforce Development Division offices:

Workforce Development Division:

	•	
Oahu:	Honolulu:	586-8700
	Waipahu:	675-0010
	Kapolei:	692-7630
	Kaneohe:	233-3700
Hawaii:	Kona:	327-4770
	Hilo:	981-2860
Maui:		984-2091
Kauai:		274-3056
Molokai:		553-1755

This notice provides general background information on Hawaii labor and employment law and is not intended to serve as a substitute for legal counsel. For specific legal advice on individual situations, please consult an attorney.

Leonard Hoshijo, Acting Director
Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

*You may satisfy Hawaii labor Laws' posting requirements by posting our official labor law poster.

For more information: http://labor.hawaii.gov/labor-law-poster/