
SAFETY AND HEALTH PROFESSIONALS AND AUDITS 
 
 
Act 234, relating to workers' compensation reform, added section 
396-4.5, Hawaii Revised Statutes, to provide for 
 

Department of Labor and Industrial Relations to 
 

* Qualify individuals as certified safety and health 
professionals under section 12-58-2 

 
* Renew safety and health professional certificates 

 
* Revoke or suspend safety and health professional 

certificates 
 

Certified Safety and Health Professionals to certify that 
 

* Employer has effective safety and health program 
 
* Employer qualifies for reduction in workers' 

compensation insurance premiums under section 431:14-
103(b), Hawaii Revised Statutes 

 
 

CERTIFICATION 
 
Eligible Individuals 
 

* Certified Safety Professional (CSP) 
 
* Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH) 
 
* Professional Engineer (PE) with 5 years of documented 

professional safety and health experience within last 
7 years prior to filing of application for 
certification 

 
* Person with bachelor of science degree in industrial 

hygiene, safety, occupational safety and health, 
biology, chemistry, environmental health and science, 
physics, engineering, or related field, with 5 years 
documented professional safety and health experience 
deemed acceptable by director within last 7 years 
prior to filing of application for certification 
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* Person with 9 years of documented professional safety 
and health experience deemed acceptable by director 
within last 10 years prior to filing of application 
for certification 

 
Eligible individuals must exhibit knowledge and familiarity 
with content and application of Hawaii Occupational Safety 
and Health (HIOSH) standards 

 
Applications 
 

* Submitted to director in writing 
 

* Accompanied by 
 

1. Reference from applicant's supervisor attesting 
to quality and breadth of qualifying work 
experience 

     o r 
Self-certification where applicant is self 
employed 

 
2. Reference from safety and health professional 

familiar with applicant's work experience and 
character 

 
(Note:  Director must receive 1. and 2. 
before application processed) 

 
3. Other information or documentation deemed 

necessary by director 
 
4. $50 non-refundable application fee 

 
$300 non-refundable certification fee payable prior to 
issuance of certificate upon approval of application for 
certification 

 
Denial of Certificate 
 

* Incomplete certificate application 
 
* Specified grounds (in notification of denial) 

 
Applicant denied certificate on specified grounds may 
request hearing by submitting written request to director 
within 10 calendar days of receipt of denial 
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Certificates 
 

* Valid for 3 years from date of issuance 
 

* Renewable for $100 non-refundable fee 
 

(Note:  No reminder of expiration; if 
certification lapses, must reapply for 
certification) 

 
Suspension or Revocation of Certification 
 

* Safety and health professional's hazard analysis or 
safety and health program development conflicts with 
state safety and health standards applicable to 
worksite 

 
* Safety and health professional knowingly includes 

false or misleading information in any report required 
by section 12-58-2 

 
* Safety and health professional no longer meets 

qualifications for certification 
 

Safety and health professional shall make available all 
documents requested by department in process of determining 
whether certification should be suspended or revoked 
 
Safety and health professional may request hearing on 
determination of suspension or revocation of certification 
by submitting written request to director within 10 
calendar days of receipt of notice of suspension or 
revocation 

 
Reinstatement of Certification 
 

* Safety and health professional demonstrates that 
qualifications met if suspension or revocation 
premised upon failure to meet qualifications for 
certification 

 
* Director reviews and approves reapplication for 

certificate if suspension or revocation premised upon 
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1. Hazard analysis or safety and health program 
development in conflict with state safety and 
health standards applicable to worksite 

 
      or 
 
2. False or misleading information in any report 

required by section 12-58-2 
 

Safety and health professional may submit 
reapplication no sooner than 1 year after expiration 
of suspension or revocation 

 
Reinstatement of safety and health professional certificate 
subject to same procedures as application for original 
certificate 

 
 

AUDITS 
 

Certification of Employer's Safety and Health Program 
 

Individuals who perform audit or review functions under 
section 12-58-2 shall limit their activities to area of 
expertise 
 
Safety and health audits shall include 

 
* Worksite hazard assessment 

 
Safety and health professional shall 

 
1. Use applicable state regulations, as well as 

recognized safe work practices, as basis for 
review of worksite conditions and recommendation 
of corrective measures 

 
2. Use testing protocols which conform to those 

recommended by National Institute of Occupational 
Safety and Health (NIOSH) and/or HIOSH wherever 
industrial hygiene sampling determined necessary 
for audit and have sample analysis performed by 
laboratory accredited by American Industrial 
Hygiene Association 

 
3. Hold opening conference which includes discussion 

of 
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a. Manner of audit 
 
b. Information and other assistance required of 

employer to perform audit 
 

c. Participation of employees or employee 
representative in audit 

 
d. Sampling which might be required as part of 

audit and sampling protocols which would be 
used 

 
e. Requirements of section 12-58-2 for conduct 

of audit 
 
f. Results of audit and employer's right to not 

disclose results to department 
 
g. Reiteration of voluntary nature of audit and 

employer's right to withdraw at any time if 
employer uncertain of desire to participate 
in audit 

 
4. Hold closing conference with employer and 

employee representatives to discuss audit 
findings and recommendtions 

 
* Evaluation of employer's safety and health program 

 
Audit Reports 
 

Written report must be forwarded to employer no more than 
20 calendar days from final closing conference date 
 
Report shall include 

 
 * 1. Name of safety and health professional 

performing audit and department's 
certificate number of safety and health 
professional 

 
If another safety and health professional 
reviewed and approved report, include 
department's certificate number of that 
individual 
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* 2. Name and location of establishment at which 
audit performed 

 
* 3. Date of audit visit 
 
* 4. Name of employer for whom report prepared 
 
* 5. Primary activity or activities of 

establishment and synopsis of work operation 
 

* 6. Number of employees at worksite 
 

* 7. Complete review of each required element of 
safety and health program in chapters 12-60 
and 12-110 and assessment of employer's 
compliance with requirements, including 
discussion of reasons why program elements 
adequately met or deficient 

 
* 8. Identification and description of all safety 

and health hazards found at establishment 
 

* 9. Description of all monitoring performed at 
establishment, including methodology used, 
identification of laboratory processing 
sample, and monitoring results 

 
* 10. Recommendations for correction of all safety 

and health hazards or deficiencies noted 
during audit, including either recommended 
time frame for correction of each hazard or 
categorization of hazards by severity, using 
HIOSH protocol established for purpose 

 
* 11. Signed statement by safety and health 

professional who conducted audit and 
prepared report attesting that information 
in report technically accurate and meets 
requirements and intent of section 12-58-2 

 
If report reviewed and approved by 
another party, include similar signed 
statement by that party 

 
Safety and health professional shall maintain reporting and 
recordkeeping audits for minimum of 3 years 
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Premium Discount Certificate 
 

After hazards and deficiencies noted in audit report 
corrected, employers desiring certificate shall submit to 
safety and health professional following information 

 
* Written report documenting all measures instituted to 

correct all safety and health hazards or deficiencies 
in safety and health program noted in safety and 
health professional's report and certified statement 
indicating deficiencies corrected and safety and 
health professional's recommendations implemented 

 
In lieu of employer's documentation, safety and 
health professional may include signed statement 
attesting to employer's compliance during 
subsequent audit 

 
* Name, address, and phone number of employer's 

designated contact person for initial audit 
 

Safety and health professional shall make information part 
of report within 15 working days after receipt 

 
Safety and health professional shall issue premium discount 
certificate to employer after determining employer's 
compliance with minimum requirements of section 12-58-2 

 


