

# COVID-19: Labor Benefits Fact Sheet

#### FOR HAWAII EMPLOYEES

If you have been impacted by Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) and are quarantined and unable to work, or your workplace has been temporarily closed, please review the following information about assistance available through our State labor programs. The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (DLIR) will do all that we can to ensure that impacted Hawaii workers receive the benefits for which they are eligible for.

# If you are out of work and not being paid, you may be eligible for Unemployment Insurance (UI).

- If your employer closed or temporarily closes, your hours are cut, or you are directed by your employer to remain home, you may be eligible for UI.
- To apply for UI, please visit labor.hawaii.gov/ui.
- You can call your local UI office for an appointment.
   Phone numbers may be found at labor.hawaii.gov/ui/contact.
- Per Governor David Y. Ige, the DLIR is waiving the 7 day waiting period for UI claims related to COVID-19.

If you are unable to work due to being ill or need to be quarantined because with COVID-19, but your employer is still open, you may be eligible for Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI).

- You must have a doctor's note stating that you are ill or quarantined because of COVID-19.
- Your COVID-19 illness or quarantine cannot be workrelated.
- You cannot be receiving workers' compensation or UI.
- To apply for TDI, please contact your employer and ask for the contact information for their TDI carrier.
- There is a 7 day waiting period.

## If you are ill with COVID-19 because of your job, you may be eligible for Workers' Compensation (WC).

- Your contraction of COVID-19 must be directly attributable to your job duties. For example, if a healthcare worker contracts COVID-19 because s/he cared for an infected patient, s/he is eligible for WC.
- You cannot be receiving TDI.
- To apply for WC, please contact your employer, inform them of your illness, and ask for the contact information for their WC carrier.
- There is a 3 day waiting period.

If you need to care for a family member who is ill or quarantined because of COVID-19, you may be eligible to take family leave under the Hawaii Family Leave Law (HFLL).

 You must work for an employer with 100 or more employees and worked for at least 6 consecutive months before qualifying to request family leave.

- Family members include care for a parent, child, sibling, spouse, or reciprocal beneficiary.
- HFLL is unpaid leave, but sick or vacation leave may be used to receive compensation.
- · You can take family leave for up to four weeks.
- To request for family leave, please contact your employer.

#### **Additional Resources:**

- Please check with your employer regarding their sick leave policies, the amount of time that you may have earned and may be available for use, and details about how to use this benefit.
- Workers that do not qualify to take family leave under HFLL may be qualified to take leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). FMLA generally allows workers to take job-protected leave to care for themselves or a family member that has been impacted by COVID-19. For information about FMLA please visit: <a href="https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla">https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla</a>.

### FOR HAWAII EMPLOYERS

If you are temporarily ceasing or limiting operations as a result of COVID-19, please contact the DLIR to discuss how we can provide assistance.

- The DLIR stands ready to assist with questions about UI, WC, TDI, and HFLL.
- Requests for assistance can be made by calling (808) 586-8844 and selecting the program that administers the law
- Please be sure to provide your business' name, a point of contact, telephone number, and/or email address.
   DLIR employees will respond to inquiries in the order they were received.
- Please also visit <u>labor.hawaii.gov</u> for more information.

For answers to frequently asked questions about COVID-19, please consult the State of Hawaii Department of Health at health.hawaii.gov.



Equal Opportunity Employer/Program

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

TDD/TTY Dial 711 then ask for (808) 586-8844.