DAVID Y. IGE GOVERNOR

JOSH GREEN LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR



ANNE PERREIRA-EUSTAQUIO DIRECTOR

JOANN A. VIDINHAR DEPUTY DIRECTOR

MARICAR PILOTIN-FREITAS ADMINISTRATOR

STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT DIVISION

830 PUNCHBOWL STREET, ROOM 329 HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813 http://labor.hawaii.gov/wdd/ Phone: (808) 586-8877 / Fax: (808) 586 8822 Email: dlir.workforce.develop@hawaii.gov

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL'S EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

Thursday, June 23, 2022 1:00 P.M. – 3:00 P.M. Online via Zoom

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, protecting the health and welfare of the community is a priority. The meeting was held remotely, with Board members and staff participating via an online meeting venue.

MINUTES

MEMBER ATTENDEES:

Alan Hayashi, Chairperson, WDC
Brian Lee, Vice Chair, WDC
Sean Knox, Assistant Vice Chair, WDC
Brian Tatsumura, Employer Engagement Committee Chair
Yvette Gibson, Sector Strategies & Career Pathways Committee Chair
Ian Kitajima, Youth Services Committee Chair
Ken Loui, Military and Veterans Affairs Committee Chair

GUESTS:

Doris Dvonch, Deputy Attorney General Kim Nguyen, DLIR Human Resources Bill Kuntsman, DLIR Public Information Officer Cary Miyashiro, Quad D Solutions Cheryl Cross, CA Cross & Associates Helen Sanpei, McKinley Community School for Adults, Principal Kelly Ueoka, President, Pacxa

1

April Acquavella, Hawaii Carpenters Apprenticeship Training Coordinator Sheryl Nojima, Employer Engagement Committee Vice Chair

STAFF:

Allicyn Tasaka, Executive Director, WDC
Harrison Kuranishi, DLIR Workforce Development Division, Employment Specialist
Erick Pascua, DLIR Workforce Development Division, Manager
Jayson Muraki, DLIR Workforce Development Division, Information & Data Coordinator
Katrina Ramos, DLIR Workforce Development Division
Daven Kawamura, DLIR Workforce Development Division

Chair Alan Hayashi called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

A. Chair's Updates from May 7, 2022, to June 23, 2022

Chair Hayashi extended a thank you to the outgoing chairs and vice chairs, including Jason Ito, Yvette Gibson, Sheryl Nojima, and Karen Wong who will be ending their term on June 30th. Chair Hayashi also welcomed new Chairs and Vice Chairs, including Sean Knox, Cheryl Cross, Kelly Ueoka, Jerry Schmitz, Cary Miyashiro, April Acquavella, and Trang Malone, starting on July 1st. Executive Director Allicyn Tasaka thanked the Executive Committee and said a few words.

II. Approval of Minutes

A. May 6, 2022, Regular Meeting Minutes

Chair Hayashi requested a motion to approve the minutes for the May 6, 2022, Regular Meeting. Sean Knox moved to approve the minutes of the May 6, 2022, Regular Meeting. Brian Lee seconded the motion. There were no objections or abstentions. The motion to approve the minutes was approved unanimously.

B. May 6, 2022, Executive Session Minutes

Chair Hayashi requested a motion to approve the minutes for the May 6, 2022, Executive Session. Brian Lee moved to approve the minutes of the May 6, 2022, Executive Session. Yvette Gibson seconded the motion. There were no objections or abstentions. The motion to approve the minutes of the Executive Session was approved unanimously.

III. Review and discussion on amendments to the By-Laws

A. Amend to include new Performance Measures and Financial Accountability Committee Allicyn Tasaka presented the amendments to the By-Laws they can be found at the following link:

https://labor.hawaii.gov/wdc/files/2022/06/Proposed-Amendment-FINAL-WDC-Bylaws-Approved-11.18.2021.pdf

Chair Hayashi requested a motion to amend the bylaws to include the Performance Measures and Financial Accountability Committee. Ken Loui moved to approve the amendment. Ian Kitajima

seconded the motion. There were no objections or abstentions. The motion to approve the amendment was approved unanimously.

IV. Brief overview of the modifications to the Hawaii Unified State Plan for July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2024

Harrison Kuranishi presented a PowerPoint presentation on the revisions/modifications for the Hawaii Unified State Plan, which can be found at the following link: https://labor.hawaii.gov/wdc/files/2022/06/PP-revised-6.23.2022.pptx

V. Committee Recommendations (if any)

A. Youth Services Committee's recommendation on proposed digital media program Ian Kitajima presented the Youth Committees Digital Media Program proposal to the Executive Committee, a link to the draft can be found below: https://labor.hawaii.gov/wdc/files/2022/06/Copy-of-WDC-Digital-Media-Program.pdf

Phase One of the program is what Ian Kitajima proposed to the Executive Committee.

Kelly Ueoka spoke about the IT program at Pacxa and a possible pairing with the digital media program that the Youth Committee has proposed into the IT program at Pacxa.

Cheryl Cross asked about in what terms are we looking at the success of an influencer, Ian said he understands that the reality is that ~1% will succeed as an influencer. But the work that the students do during the program hopefully will help them find something else that interests them, providing opportunities.

Chair Hayashi requested a motion to approve moving forward on recommending phase one of the program to the full board. Ian Kitajima moved to approve moving phase one of the program to the full board. Brian Lee seconded the motion. There were no objections or abstentions. The motion to approve moving forward on phase one of the program to the full board was approved unanimously.

VI. Executive Session

Chair Hayashi along with the Committee Chairs of the board as well as Kim Nguyen and Doris Dvonch entered executive session at 1:58 p.m. The regular meeting was resumed at 2:40 p.m.

During the Executive Session the Executive Director position was discussed, Chair Hayashi appointed Harrison Kuranishi as the interim Executive Director as of July 1st, 2022.

VII. Next Meetings

- A. The 2022 schedule for full Board meetings on the second Thursday of the quarterly month: August 11; and November 17 (3rd week due to holiday).
- B. Meeting dates for Executive Committee meetings to be determined by Chair Hayashi.

VIII. Adjournment

Chair Alan Hayashi adjourned the meeting at 2:46 p.m.