
 

 

COVID-19 QUESTIONS AND 
ANSWERS 
The below are questions and answers to questions to 
various workplace scenarios due to coronavirus (COVID-
19).  The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations 
(DLIR) is working with others like Governor David Y. Ige 
and the Department of Health (DOH) to ensure that we 
provide affected employers and employees with the 
most updated information.   

As the COVID-19 pandemic is an evolving situation, all 
answers are subject to change. 

1. Can employees who recently 
traveled return to work? 

• No, under the Governor’s Third Supplementary 
Emergency Proclamation aka the Governor’s Stay at 
Home/Work from Order, anyone who returned to 
Hawaii from the Mainland or another country is ordered 
to self-quarantine for 14 days.  

2. Can employees who are self-quarantined 
telework? 

• Yes, they may.  The Governor’s Stay at Home/Work 
from Home Order encourages employees who can 
telework to do so. 

3. Can employees who have been in contact with 
individuals who have traveled or are self-
quarantining return to work? 

• That would depend on whether the employer’s 
policies.   

• For assistance, please contact the DOH at (808) 
586-4586. 

4. Is all travel, including to the Neighbor Islands, 
suspended? 

• No, the Governor’s Stay at Home/Work from Order 
did not suspend all travel. 

• However, travel should be limited to only essential 
travel, and those traveling outside the State should 
be ready to self-quarantine for 14 days upon return 
to Hawaii.  

5. Do all in-person meetings or conferences need 
to be canceled? 

• Yes, if social distancing guidelines, which provides 
that people should be at least 6 feet from each 
other, cannot be adhered to.   

 

 

• If possible, meetings should be conducted over 
telephone or video conference. 

6. Can employees who are ill or need to care for a 
family member ill with COVID-19 take paid sick 
leave? 

• Yes, under the Families First Coronavirus Response 
Act, employees that work for employers with 500 or 
less employees are entitled to 14 days of paid sick 
leave. 

• The U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour 
Division (WHD) enforces the paid sick leave or 
expanded Family and Medical Leave Act provisions 
in the Families First Coronavirus Response Act.  

7. I have questions and/or concerns about the 
exemptions in the Governor’s Stay at Home/Work 
from Order.  Who I do contact? 

• The DLIR does not enforce the exemptions in the 
Governor’s Stay at Home/Work from Order.   

• Please contact the Governor’s Office at 
covidexemption@hawaii.gov for more information. 

Additional DLIR Resources: 
• If the above scenarios do not apply to your situation, 

please review the information available at 
labor.hawaii.gov/get-the-latest-COVID-19-
workplace-udpates. 

 

 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 
 

• U.S. Department of Labor WHD: (808) 541-1361. 
• Governor David Y. Ige’s emergency proclamations: 

https://governor.hawaii.gov/emergency-
proclamations/ 

• Hawaii COVID-19 Updates: 
www.hawaiicovid19.com  

 
 
For answers to frequently asked questions about COVID-
19, please consult the State of Hawaii Department of 
Health at health.hawaii.gov.  

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 

TDD/TTY Dial 711 then ask for (808) 586-8844. 
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