

STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS WAGE STANDARDS DIVISION

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

Under the HAWAII WAGE AND HOUR LAW

(Chapter 387, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and Chapter 12-20, Hawaii Administrative Rules)

\$7.25 per hour

effective through December 31, 2014

\$7.75 per hour

effective January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2015

\$8.50 per hour

effective January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016

\$9.25 per hour

effective January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017

\$10.10 per hour

effective January 1, 2018

TIP CREDIT - Under <u>certain conditions</u>, "tipped employees" may be paid up to twenty-five cents less per hour; effective January 1, 2015, up to 50 cents less per hour; and effective January 1, 2016, up to 75 cents less per hour (if wages + tips equal \$7 more per hour than minimum wage rate). See Section 387-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

Minimum wage under the Hawaii Wage and Hour Law also applies to employment covered by the federal wage and hour law (Fair Labor Standards Act) when Hawaii standards are higher than the federal law. The law also requires employers to maintain time records.

ENFORCEMENT: The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations may recover back wages, either administratively or through court action, for employees who have been underpaid.

FOR MORE INFORMATION contact the nearest Department of Labor office:

Oahu	830 Punchbowl Street, Room 340, Honolulu 96813	Phone: (808) 586-8777
Kauai	State Building, Room 202, 3060 Eiwa Street, Lihue 96766	(808) 274-3351
Maui	2264 Aupuni Street, Wailuku 96793	(808) 243-5322
Hawaii	State Building, Room 108, 75 Aupuni Street, Hilo 96720	(808) 974-6464
West Hawaii	Post Office Building, Room 2087, 81-990 Halekii St., Kealakekua 96750	(808) 322-4808



The law requires employers to post this notice in a place accessible to employees. This notice can be downloaded from the department's web site at www.hawaii.gov/labor