

PROCEDURES FOR OBTAINING A CHILD LABOR CERTIFICATE

Under the Hawaii Child Labor Law, a child labor certificate or "work permit" is required for working minors until they reach 18 years of age. There is no charge for the certificate, and we will generally issue a certificate as long as: (1) the minor is not legally required to be in school, and (2) the minor's employment is not hazardous. There are two types of certificates, depending upon the age of the minor. The procedures to obtain these certificates are explained below.

Certificate of Employment (for 14- and 15-year-old minors)

When a 14- or 15-year-old minor is hired, the employer is required to obtain a Certificate of Employment <u>before</u> the minor starts working. For the certificate to be issued, either the employer or the minor or other representative may assist in the following:

- 1. Obtain Application for Minor's Certificate of Employment (form CL-1) from a DLIR Child Labor Office shown below, or on the department's website at http://hawaii.gov/labor/wsd/pdf/pdf/forms/wsd-CL-1 rev9-08.pdf. This application must be completed and signed by the employer and a parent or guardian of the minor.
- 2. Return the completed application, with an *acceptable proof of age document, either in person or by mail. You may FAX the application, but the original application must be returned to the nearest DLIR Child Labor Office for a certificate to be issued. If the hours of work are approved and the work is not hazardous or prohibited, a temporary authorization slip will be issued, and a Certificate of Employment will be mailed to the employer. The minor may start working upon receipt of either a temporary authorization slip or the Certificate of Employment.
- 3. If the minor works for a new employer or in a new occupation, this same procedure must be followed again.

Minors 14 and 15 years of age may work:

- 1. Not more than 3 hours per day on a school day, and 8 hours per day on a non-school day.
- During a school week, not more than 18 hours per week.During a non-school week, not more than 40 hours per week.
- 3. On school days and the day before a school day: Between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. On non-school days and the day before a non-school day: Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.
- 4. Not more than 6 consecutive days, and 5 consecutive hours without at least a 30-minute rest or meal period.

*Acceptable Proof of Age:

•Birth Certificate
•Court record
•Hawaii driver's license
•California driver's license
•California driver's license
•Court record
•Baptismal certificate
•Bible record
•Bible record

•State of Hawaii ID •Hospital record

•Military ID
•Immigration record (alien card, passport, visa)
•School record (NOT school ID)

Certificate of Age (for 16- and 17-year-old minors)

The revised Certificate of Age (eCL-3) is valid only when accompanied by an approved proof of age document, which are both presented to the employer at the time of hire. No promise of a job is needed to obtain this certificate.

APPLY ONLINE at http://www.hawaii.gov/labor/wsd/youth instruct.shtml.

If no access to the internet is available, the minor or a representative may apply either in person, by mail or by FAX. A minor or representative should submit the minor's name, last four digits of the minor's social security number, home address, and phone number to the nearest Child Labor Office. The minor will be issued a Certificate of Age to use until age 18.

There are no restrictions on hours except when the minor is required to be in school. When the minor is hired, the employer is required to: (1) verify the minor's name and birth date on the Certificate of Age with the proof of age document; (2) record the Certificate of Age <u>number</u>; and (3) return the Certificate of Age and proof of age document to the minor.

Wage Standards Division of the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (Child Labor Offices):

		<u>Phone</u>	<u>FAX</u>
OAHU:	Keelikolani Building, 830 Punchbowl Street, Room 340, Honolulu, HI 96813	586-8777	586-8766
KAUAI:	3060 Eiwa Street, Room 202, Lihue, HI 96766	274-3351	274-3355
MAUI:	2264 Aupuni Street, Wailuku, HI 96793	243-5322	984-2071
HILO:	75 Aupuni Street, Room 108, Hilo, HI 96720	974-6464	974-6460
WEST HAWAII:	Post Office Building, Kealakekua, HI 96750	322-4808	322-4813