Minimum Wage to Increase to $7.75 in 2015

Posted on Dec 24, 2014 in News

Minimum Wage Rises to $10.10 Over the Next Three Years

  HONOLULU — The Hawaii State Department of Labor & Industrial Relations (DLIR) today announced that per Act 82, Session Laws of Hawaii (2014), the minimum wage for most employers will increase to $7.75 per hour beginning on January 1, 2015.

“This increase will boost consumer demand and jobs because minimum and low-wage workers spend most if not all of their increased wages and therefore will generate economic activity and contribute to Hawaii’s strengthening economy,” said DLIR Director Dwight Takamine.

The minimum wage will rise to $8.50 per hour on January 1, 2016, $9.25 per hour on January 1, 2017, and $10.10 per hour on January 1, 2018. Tipped employees may be paid 50 cents below the minimum wage beginning on January 1, 2015 and 75 cents below the minimum wage beginning on January 1, 2016 as long as the combined amount the employee receives from the employee’s employer and tips is at least $7.00 more than the minimum wage.

Hawaii’s unemployment rate was 4 percent in October while the record labor force included 669,850 individuals.

For more information about minimum wage and tip credit, please visit:

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
TTY/TDD (808) 586-8844

# # #
View DLIR news releases:

Media Contact:
Bill Kunstman
Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
(808) 586-8845
[email protected] Name