WDC Members

The Workforce Development Council is a 41-member advisory commission comprised of both public and private-sector representatives, selected by the Governor to serve in staggered 4-year terms on the basis of their interest in and knowledge of workforce development programs in Hawaii and ways to support economic development throughout the state. Vacancies are pending appointments by the Governor.

Private Sector

Leslie Wilkins
Chair, Workforce Development Council & Maui County Workforce Development Board
Vice President, Maui Economic Development Board, Inc.

David DeLuz, Jr.
Chair, Hawaii County Workforce Development Board
Vice President, Big Island Toyota

Bobby Ayonon
Chair, Kauai County Workforce Development Board

Jason Chang
Chair, Oahu Workforce Development Board

Alan Hayashi
Owner/Principal, Consult  808

Brian Tatsumura
Owner, Briant 808 LLC

Sunshine Topping
Vice President of Human Resources, Hawaiian Telcom

Sheryl Nojima
President; Gray, Hong, Nojima, and Associates

Ian Kitajima
Director of Corporate Development; Oceanit

Sean Knox
President, Hawaii Employment Services, Inc.

Beth Whitehead
Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer, American Savings Bank

Barry Taniguchi
Chairman and Chief Financial Officer, KTA Super Stores

Glen Kaneshige
President, Nordic PCL Construction, Inc.

Edward Richardson
Owner, Edward V. Richardson, LLC.

Evelyn Barfield
Human Resources Business Partner, Hunt Companies

Alicia Moy
President/Chief Executive Officer, Hawaii Gas

Shannon Okinaka
Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Hawaiian Airlines

Yvette Gibson
HR Manager, Hawaii Pacific Health

Jason Ito
Director of Admin, Labor & Communication Relations, Kyo-Ya Management Co., Ltd.

Michael Kamiya
Sales Director, Kamiya Gold, Ltd.

Labor and Workforce Training Organizations 

Glenn Alcalde
Training Coordinator, Hawaii Carpenters Apprenticeship and Training Fund

Dwight Takamine
Legislative Director, ILWU Local 142

Winona Whitman
Statewide Director of Employment & Training, Alu Like, Inc.

Charles “Chuck” Shima
Training Coordinator, Plumbers Union Local 675

Gladys Marrone
Chief Executive Officer, Building Industry Association of Hawaii

Marian Tsuji
President and Chief Executive Officer, Lanakila Pacific

Public Sector

David Ige
Governor, State of Hawaii

Alan Arakawa
Mayor, County of Maui

Bernard Carvalho, Jr.
Mayor, County of Kauai

Kirk Caldwell
Mayor, City and County of Honolulu

Harry Kim
 Mayor, County of Hawaii

Jill Tokuda
Hawaii State Senator

David Lassner
President, University of Hawaii System

Christina Kishimoto
Superintendent, Department of Education

Mark Nakashima
Hawaii State Representative

Luis Salaveria
Director, Department of Business, Economic Development, & Tourism

Leonard Hoshijo
Director, Department of Labor & Industrial Relations

Pankaj Bhanot
Director, Department of Human Services