Minimum Wage and Overtime
As of January 1, 2007, the Hawaii minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
Effective January 1, 2015, the minimum wage will be $7.75 per hour.
Effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage will be $8.50 per hour.
Effective January 1, 2017, the minimum wage will be $9.25 per hour.
Effective January 1, 2018, the minimum wage will be $10.10 per hour.
For information go to Minimum Wage Notice.
Under certain conditions, employers may pay tipped employees below the applicable minimum wage by using tip credit. For information on tip credit, go to Tip Credit Notice and Easy Reference Guide.
Generally, overtime is required after 40 hours worked in a workweek.
See Section 387-3, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS).
Exceptions to this rule are explained in the White Collar Exemptions chart.
On State or county public construction projects governed by Chapter 104, HRS, Wages and Hours of Employees on Public Works Law, overtime is required after 8 hours a day, and all hours on Saturdays, Sundays, and State holidays.
See Section 104-2(c), HRS.
To download a copy of the required labor law poster, go to the Labor Law Poster page.