New Employer Registration
**Effective July 1, 2017, the Unemployment Insurance (UI) Division will no longer issue identification numbers for employers with future liability dates (hire date is in the future). To apply, complete Form UC-1, Report to Determine Liability under Hawaii Employment Security Law or BB-1 if you have one or more covered employee(s) with a current date or past date of hire. Any forms submitted with a hire date in the future, will be returned to the employer with a letter stating to register within 20 days after the hire date.**
Any individual or organization with one or more workers performing services for their company or organization, must file Form UC-1, Report to Determine Liability under Hawaii Employment Security Law, with the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, Unemployment Insurance Division within 20 days after hiring an employee. If a determination of liability will be made, the subject employer will be assigned an account number and tax forms will be furnished when a current or past liability date is established.
To register online, use Hawaii Business Express to start a business in the state of Hawaii. One simple interface covers all the forms with all state agencies and partners. Register Online at Hawaii Business Express
Note: If your business has already registered with Department of Taxation or Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, complete paper Form UC-1, Report to Determine Liability under Hawaii Employment Security Law and mail to your nearest Unemployment Insurance office.
To file by paper: Obtain Form UC-1 from our website and mail your completed application to your nearest Unemployment Insurance Division office.
Nonprofit organizations qualifying for income tax exemption under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code may apply to self-finance benefits to their employees on a reimbursable basis. Employers requesting this election must file an application with the UI Division to see if qualifying requirements can be met.
A family-owned corporation which has two family members, related by blood or marriage, who, as the only employees each own at least 50% of the shares issued by the corporation, may apply for exclusion from UI coverage. To elect this exclusion option, Form UC-336 , “Election by Family-Owned Corporation to be Excluded From Coverage Under Section 383-7(20)”
Successor to Business
If an employer is a successor to the business of another employer, they may request acquisition of the experience record of the predecessor in order to obtain a more favorable contribution rate. Form UC-86, “Waiver of Employer’s Experience Record” must be filed within sixty days after the date of acquisition or by March 1 of the following year, and the predecessor employer must clear all contributions and reports due to the UI Division.
For more information:
Notify the UI Office of any changes to an employer’s address or status of business on Form UC-25, “Notification of Changes”.